September Book Chat: Books for our Younger Selves

Each month, Misty from TheBookRat.com hosts a discussion topic that many of us participate in. I usually participate via a video response on my YouTube channel, so that will be shown below along with a written description of the topic (just in case you don’t want to watch the video).

This Month’s Topic: Books that we would have wished we had for our younger selves.

The Books:

  • Tiger’s Curse by Colleen Houck
  • Sister’s Red by Jackson Pearce
  • Mermaid by Carolyn Turgeon
  • Cinder by Marissa Meyer
  • The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo – Stieg Larsson
  • Azumanga Daioh Omnibus
  • Death Note series
  • Norweigan Wood by Haruki Murakami

I divided this topic into two time periods of my life – when I was 10 years old and during high school. For my 10 year old self, I would have loved to read more fantasy books that touched on significant aspects of my life. The sibling love in Sister’s Red and the love and devotion in Tiger’s Curse would have been more impactful to me at a younger age. I would have enjoyed Cinder a lot more if I wasn’t as familiar with the story line of Sailor Moon (I found the two stories to be very similar and thus found Cinder predictable), and I think the simple, but beautiful, writing of Mermaid would have been lovely. I did not have much selection for books at that age (read: small town with no bookstores and a terrible library!) so I think these books would have made me really happy.

During high school I went through a really tough period. My mental health was unstable, I was bullied often, and I had very few friends. For this reason, I think reading Norweigan Wood would have been amazing because I could connect so well with Naoko, one of the love interests. Although it has a sad ending, it would have been beneficial to see Naoko (me) from someone else’s perspective. Lisbeth from The Girl With a Dragon Tattoo would have easily been my idol if I had discovered her at that time. I admire her intelligence, determination, confidence, and independence. Those are amazing qualities to expose to a high school girl. In addition, the confidence and intelligence of Light from Death Note would have challenged my mind at an earlier age, also allowing me to have more time to enjoy the series. Lastly, Azumanga Daioh is a light hearted, funny, and cheerful series. I am absolutely positive that a few extra smiles and laughs during high school would have been a tremendous help.

1 Comment

Filed under Book Chat

One response to “September Book Chat: Books for our Younger Selves

  1. TG

    Just wanted to say that I really loved your approach to this topic, choosing books that would have helped you through childhood tough times. Your post inspired mine, actually.

    I’ve read lots of reviews for Cinder but I haven’t heard anyone compare it to Sailor Moon before! That’s interesting. I’ve only seen the first season of Sailor Moon, so I wonder if I would still see the parallels.

    If you’re interested, my post link is this: http://whatireadandwhatithought.blogspot.co.uk/2012/09/september-book-chat-books-for-our.html

Leave a Reply

