Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

418 pages
Published 2011, Little, Brown and Company

My rating: 4/5

I quite enjoyed this book!

At the beginning, I wasn’t so sure what to feel about the book because it caught me off guard. The writing is incredibly casual and it felt like it was being narrated by a teen. That isn’t a bad thing, of course, but it was such a stark difference from The Night Circus that it threw me for a loop. There’s a bit of slang and the book does start off a bit slow (a lot of setting up), but the plot is really good. There is a great combination of action, suspense, fantasy, and secrets.

As for the fantasy part, this book has chimaera and angels! The angels aren’t something I normally get excited about, but the world of the Devil is something I get pumped about. I loved the descriptions of the chimaera and felt like their personalities were really well done, especially for Brimstone.

The protagonist, Karou, has bright blue hair and runs errands for the chimaera Brimstone. I loved these two characters. Karou is a strong, female protagonist with a sense of caution and impulse at all the right momenst. Brimstone is a brilliant “father” figure and someone I was really intrigued into discovering.

Highly recommended! ^_^

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews

Leave a Reply

