The Scorch Trials by James Dashner

The Scorch Trials by James Dashner
Book 2 in the Maze Runner Trilogy 

360 pages
Published 2010, Ember
Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian, Science Fiction 

My Rating: 3.5/5

Normally with trilogies, I find the second book to be the most difficult to get through because they generally lag. The Scorch Trials had the same fast pace as the Maze Runner and enough imagination to make it really feel like its own book (and not just part of a trilogy). The creepiness factor I found in The Maze Runner was repeated in The Scorch Trials, although to a slightly more predictable manner. We were able to learn more about WICKED and people that existed outside of the maze to begin with. I thought it was interesting how it was all set up, but I was a tad disappointed by the ending. I didn’t feel like it really gave me enough of an explanation to be satisfied. Luckily, my book contained the first couple chapters of the third book in the trilogy, The Death Cure, and that answered some of my questions. Overall, it was an enjoyable book and I recommend it along with the Maze Runner!

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews

Leave a Reply

