The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

387 pages
Published 2011, Doubleday Canada
Genre: Fantasy, Adult Fiction

My Rating: 5/5

Wow.

This book was amazing!!

The writing is the strongest aspect of this book. The writing was incredibly descriptive, beautiful, and flowed so easily. I took my time with this book and did not want it to end. The imagery of the circus was unbelievable and felt more like a dream than anything realistic. I have been to the circus myself, but I would kill to be able to experience a real-life version of this circus. She hit all the senses: sight, taste, smells, touch, and hearing. I cannot stress enough how amazing this book was to read! By the end of the book I felt like I really knew the characters and the world they lived in.  The perspectives of each chapter cycled through a cast of characters, and the reader is also included! The inclusion of the reader as a POV character really made the book more intimate and that much easier to indulge.

A word of caution: do not read the inside flap. I found it had major spoilers and the story would be better if you did not know that information!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Favourite Books, Reviews

One response to “The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

  1. I loved this book! It was hard to read at parts but it was really good.

Leave a Reply

