January TBR and Book Haul

I have a lot of books to read this month. I suspect most of them will leak into February, but that is fine by me. In total, I have 15 books in which 5 are manga, 4 are reference/self help, and 2 are part of a series that I haven’t read yet (i.e. they are books in the middle of the series). Library books will be read first. 🙂

Library Haul

My goal for library books was to learn more about investing for my future. I also threw in a book about anxiety and panic attacks because I do suffer from them. I’ve heard a lot of great things about the Blue Bloods series so I thought I’d give that a try, too.

Blue Bloods by Melissa De La Cruz

Easy Money by Gail Vaz-Oxlade

Anxiety and Panic Attacks by Judith Levin

The Borrower’s Answer Book by Gail Vaz-Oxlade

RRSPs & RRIFs for Dummies by John Lawrence Reynolds

Regular Book Haul

I got a couple of gift cards for Christmas so I was able to purchase some books I had my eye on for awhile. Luckily, both Wither and Angel Burn are now paperbacks so I saved some money on those. I got the Van Alen Legacy book for $2 and Shadowland for $5.

Angel Burn by L.A. Weatherly

Wither by Lauren DeStefano

The Van Alen Legacy by Melissa De La Cruz (will wait to read this one)

Shadowland by alyson Noel (will also wait to read this one)

Sweetly by Jackson Pearce

The cover art for Wither and Angel Burn are interesting, don’t you think? 

Manga Book Haul

I’m taking a course on manga and graphic novels and this is my required reading.

NANA vol. 1 by Ai Yazawa

Barefoot Gen: A Cartoon Story of Hiroshima vol. 1 by Keiji Nakazawa (this looks really sad)

The Magical Life of Long Tack Sam by Anne Marie Fleming (it is about a Chinese acrobat and magician)

Tonoharu part 1 by Lars Martinson  (it is about an American teaching in Japan)

Akira vol. 1 by Katsuhiro Otomo (a classic – see the film if you haven’t already)

 

So that is what I am reading… there are a lot of books but I look forward to getting through all of them!

Optional Questions for Readers,

  1. Did you recently buy/receive any books? What are they?
  2. What are you hoping to read in January?
  3. Are you interested in self help and reference books? Examples would be books on finance, health, spirituality, etc.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under TBR and Book Hauls

Leave a Reply

