Other Waters by Eleni Gage

Other Waters by Eleni Gage

352 pages
February 2012, St. Martin’s Press
Genre: adult fiction, cultures

Description (shortened to avoid major spoilers):

Maya is an accomplished psychiatry resident with a terrific boyfriend, loving family, and bustling New York social life. When her grandmother dies in India, a family squabble over property results in a curse that drifts across continents and threatens Maya’s life.  A trip back to India with her best friend Heidi, Maya reasons, will be just what’s needed to remove the curse, save her family, and to put her own life back in order. Thus begins a journey into Maya’s parallel world– an India filled with loving and annoying relatives, vivid colors, and superstitious customs–a cross-cultural, transcontinental search to for a chance to find real love.

My Rating: 1/5

For me, this book just didn’t cut it. I gave up halfway through, which is a shame because I was really excited to read this book. The premise sounded interesting because the main character is a psychiatrist and I am a psychology undergrad, and also I was curious to learn more about India.  I was hoping to learn more about India’s culture but I didn’t feel like there was anything there that I didn’t already know. Maya’s character bothered me as well – despite her academic success, she gave up too easily for the sake of others and had very little personality that actually pertained to herself.  Some of the writing itself was awkward. There were several spelling mistakes and odd things, such as Maya referring to another character as her aunt one sentence and then her mother in another sentence. It might be a cultural thing but it was confusing, which just added fuel to the fire.

I think the story has a lot of potential, but the writing didn’t captivate me so I’m going to go onto something else instead. I don’t think the book is bad, but rather, the book just isn’t the right fit for me. I think there are many people that will enjoy this book.

Questions for readers:

  1. When was the last time you gave up on a book? What was it?
  2. Do you like reading books about characters that travel somewhere to “find themselves”? Another example is that book “Eat, Pray, Love.”
1 Comment

Filed under Reviews

One response to “Other Waters by Eleni Gage

  1. I gave up on one of those Rama books by Arthur C Clarke. It was co-written by some other guy and I fear he might have had a bit too much influence. Too much childrearing and human interaction and not enough… sci fi??

Leave a Reply

