Musing Mondays

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by the blog Should Be Reading

This week’s question: How many books do you read in a week? Month? Year?

The amount of books that I read each month varies because I am a student and so most of my time is spent studying and cleaning up after my boyfriend (just kidding, Arthur!… sort of!). Sometimes my work load is intense, other times it isn’t. I also read manga which takes about an hour to get through a book.

I joined Good Reads in August 2011 and according to the site, I have read 40 books since then. I read a mixture of everything, so it really depends on the length and type of book it is – is it a slow, thoughtful read or an action filled, fast paced read? Generally, I read at least one book a week while also attending school. If a book is 200 pages then I can finish it usually within the same day if I like it, or 2 days if I’m not that into it. Larger reads, such as George R.R. Martin’s “A Game of Thrones” took me four days to read (~700 pages). For large reads like that, I try to read 200 pages in a single sitting. For shorter books, I usually go for 100 pages and then decide if I want to continue reading or not.

I’m the type of person that can’t put a book down if I like it because I’ll just think about it while I am trying to sleep so it is more time efficient if I just get it over with and read the entire thing. Usually for shorter books this is no problem, but for longer reads it is more difficult! I think the worst case was for the last Harry Potter book. I took me about 8-10 hours to read. I remember I sat in my mom’s chair all day and got through it! My neck was incredibly sore but it was worth it.

I’m hoping to read 100 books in 2012 and I don’t think it will be much of a problem. As of right now, I am reading about one to two books a week and four to ten books a month, give or take a couple.

Leave a comment

Filed under Weekly Memes

Leave a Reply

