Waiting on Wednesday – The Next Full Moon by Carolyn Turgeon

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by the blog Breaking the Spine

The Next Full Moon, written by Carolyn Turgeon, is set to be released January 3, 2012 (hardcover and paperback).

192 pages
Published by Downtown Bookworks
Genre: fairy tale retellings, young adult, fantasy

Description from Amazon.ca:

This thoroughly compelling, gorgeously told tale, begins as the weather turns warm enough to swim in the local lake, twelve-year-old Ava is looking forward to a lazy summer, and her crush, Jeff is most definitely taking notice of her. Everything is going beautifully. Until Ava starts to grow feathers—all over her shoulders, arms, and back. Horrified, mortified, and clad in a hoodie, she hides out in her bedroom missing her dead mother and worrying about the summer, and the rest of her freakish life… Carolyn Turgeon has a gift for imagining magical worlds. In Ava’s case, this other-worldly place belongs to the Swan Maidens, one of whom is Ava’s mother. Ava goes back and forth between middle school and this magical realm taking the reader along for an exhilarating, extraordinary ride.

Other books by Carolyn Turgeon include Rain Village, Godmother, and Mermaid. I absolutely loved both Godmother and Mermaid (haven’t read Rain Village yet) so I am very much looking forward to The Next Full Moon. Turgeon has lately been writing fairytale stories with a twist that snatches your heart and makes you salivate for more. Her prose is beautiful, the stories are simple but emotional, and you can’t help but feel all is well in the world when you finish her novels. She is one of my favourite authors and you can find more about her on Facebook or her personal website.  PS: She actually replies to messages, so message her! Get to know this lovely lady! You won’t regret it. 🙂

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Waiting on Wednesday – The Next Full Moon by Carolyn Turgeon

  1. At first I thought that this might be a werewolf book and I got a little giddy but then I read the blurb and realized I was wrong. Ooh well. It still looks like an interesting read. Great pick!

    My WOW

  2. Hmm I haven’t heard of this one, but it sounds great! i love the title and the cover, so hopefully it’s a good one! Nice pick 🙂

    Here’s my WoW!

  3. Thanks for introducing me to a new author I haven’t heard of before. I will definitely be checking out her books. They all look really good. I added them to my goodreads. =]
    Here is My WoW

    • No problem! I saw on your WoW that you also had a fairy tale retelling, and I think yours sounds very interesting! Carolyn Turgeon’s other novel Godmother is about Cinderella’s godmother, except she lives in NYC and runs a used bookstore. 🙂

  4. lindsaywrites

    this looks great!!

    I’m hosting an exclusive Cover reveal for TOUHCING THE SURFACE, by Kim Sabatini, a 2012 release from SimonPulse! Will you come by and comment your thoughts on it?!

    http://lindsaycummingsblog.blogspot.com/2011/11/wow-exclusive-cover-reveal-touching.html

  5. I haven’t heard of this one. Thanks for sharing!

    My WOW

  6. *gasp* I haven’t heard of this one before! OH MY GOD IT sounds Fantastic!!!!!

    Giselle
    Xpresso Reads

  7. This sounds interesting! Never read anything by her before, but I think I will be putting one of her books on my to read list! 🙂

  8. I haven’t read anything by her, but it does sound interesting! I definitely thought it was going to be a werewolf story from the title though.

    Waiting on Wednesday @ Radiant Shadows

Leave a Reply

