Favourite Female Characters in Literature

There are some amazing female characters in literature these days. I want to share with you a few of my favourites!

source: avanthropology.blogspot.com

#1 Lisbeth Salander from the Millenium Trilogy (Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, Girl Who Played With Fire, & Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest) by Stieg Larsson

When I first came across Lisbeth, I was reminded of a younger version of myself as well as younger me’s perception of what I would be like as an adult. I had an attitude and an interest in Goth culture, not to mention I was crazy into web design and coding. I was confident and determined. So, as you can see, I saw a lot of myself in Lisbeth. When I first read the books this past year, I was instantly reminded of my younger self and inspired at the confidence and determinism that Lisbeth possessed.

“Salander leaned back against the pillow and followed the conversation with a smile. She wondered why she, who had such difficulty talking about herself with people of flesh and blood, could blithely reveal her most intimate secrets to a bunch of completely unknown freaks on the Internet.” 

#2 Marianne from The Gargoyle by Andrew Davidson

I love Marianne for her mysterious nature and determinism. She is incredibly artistic and works extremely hard on her sculptures. We are suppose to think she is some nut-job, but when you read between the lines you come to realize she is a genius.  She possesses emotional intelligence and knows all there is to know about love.

#3 Luna Lovegood from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

Like Marianne, Luna is one of those characters that people brush off as being kooky. Despite her eccentric personality, Luna is a very intelligent and caring person. Her clever mind helped Harry in his quest, and her constant support for her father’s unorthodox newspaper is admirable. She is the oddball of the school but she is likable and interesting.

“You’re just as sane as I am.”

#4 Arya Stark from A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin

Arya embodies feminism to the extreme. She just does whatever she wants without thinking of gender norms (or restrictions, really).  Like others in this list, she is extremely determined, intelligent, and clever. I can’t wait to see what happens to her in the rest of the series.
*Avoiding spoilers for people that haven’t read the books!*

“Fear cuts deeper than swords.”

#5 May Kasahara from The Wind Up Bird Chronicle by Haruki Murakami

What an interesting character! She says thought provoking statements that have an air of morbid beauty about them. One of the first times we are introduced to her, she is  reading a men’s magazine in her backyard. She explains she doesn’t go to school anymore, even though she should be in middle school. Despite that, she is an intelligent figure.

“Here’s what I think, Mr. Wind-Up Bird,” said May Kasahara. “Everybody’s born with some different thing at the core of their existence. And that thing, whatever it is, becomes like a heat source that runs each person from the inside. I have one too, of course. Like everybody else. But sometimes it gets out of hand. It swells or shrinks inside me, and it shakes me up. What I’d really like to do is find a way to communicate that feeling to another person. But I can’t seem to do it. They just don’t get it. Of course, the problem could be that I’m not explaining it very well, but I think it’s because they’re not listening very well. They pretend to be listening, but they’re not, really. So I get worked up sometimes, and I do some crazy things.”

Who are your favourite female characters in literature?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

